Dharamshala- A place hardly known but now fully explored!

This can be called a sequel of what is yet unwritten, but never the less I had to, because this place (Dharamshala) intrigued me so much, that I could not resist my temptation to write about it.

'The people of Dharamshala'
                                                             ‘The people of Dharamshala’

This can be called a sequel of what is yet unwritten, but never the less I had to, because this place (Dharamshala) intrigued me so much, that I could not resist my temptation to write about it.

Dharamshala has an amazing stadium, and that’s what I want to see I had told my friends. It looked so amazing from the television screen that I thought it must feel like heaven to actually be there. That was the ONLY reason for me wanting to visit the city on my trip to the North.

The city was part of my itinerary on my first holiday with friends and without family. It comprised of visiting some of the favorite tourist destinations in the North being Delhi, Manali and finally Dharamshala which we hardly expected anything of in terms of sight- seeing

And that is what amazed me at the end of a trip that I will never forget. It will be etched in my memory forever, titled ‘A Visit to the North’.

So it was after a 12 hour journey from Manali by a personal mini-van that we reached the city of Dharamshala in the dead of night. My eyes were all groggy and took some time to get accustomed to the sudden stream of dim light coming from the hotel entrance and a particular aura of the place which was also getting clearly evident to me.

While our luggage was being unloaded, our rooms were being sorted out and all we had to do is collapse on the beds which yearned our presence. I immediately slipped into a deep slumber, so much so i do not remember what my friends were talking about! I only to got up the next day to the disturbing yet warming  sunlight that flooded my room.  And definitely seemed to be happy after receiving the comfort of a bed which I had longed for since leaving the cold city of Manali.

Since breakfast was a part of our package and we were all yearning for some really good food to satiate our hunger. We went up to our dining area situated under sufficient shade to block the sun which was forcefully waking us up to get up and about the place.  We decided to order something particular of the land and immediately my eyes landed on the HimView breakfast which consisted of everything normal with Tibetan Bread which interested me all the more along with other accompaniments.  We finished in no time and went off exploring the small city.

Within two minutes of us looking around we stumbled upon a tattoo parlour which got all of us excited to get tattoos done for ourselves but not knowing which one to choose from the wide variety the owner had with him. Our inclination for music only helped our trained eyes to find a guitar in the owner possessed. It was not long before we found ourselves playing and singing some of our favorite songs. Sensing we had interrupted the owners lunch we decided we better show ourselves out before we might end up getting kicked from there!

It was easy to roam the city because there was only one road encircling it. And as we set foot out of our hotel, it was the Dharamshala market that caught our eye and which went on to leave me in awe of the place. Everything looked so vibrant and colourful with the people of Himachal Pradesh greeting you with a warm smile which made the experience all the more memorable because their faces simply radiated their warmth and homeliness in this small town that would eventually want to make me visit it again. And also seeing tourists from across the world roam around with a care-free attitude and the eagerness to explore unknown lands made me even more want to go by the same road everyday that I would be staying there. And I did end up going every single time to be amused with something new on the streets or in the shops.

These visits for the next few days to the market and the shops along the road helped us meet people from other countries in the world and talking to them itself was made my day. The visits also made us taste food specialties like Momo’s which were said to be famous from this part of the country. I made it a point that everyday I went exploring the place, I would pass through the market which had never failed to draw my attention towards it. And every time i visited I bought souvenirs for my loved ones and feeling happy about the aspect of doing it.

Our visit to this Northern land had many other highlights to it like visiting the Dalai Lama Temple, understanding Tibetan history better when we visited the museum there. History we hardly knew anything about till then. Not to forget performing live for the first time (in my case) for an audience in Seed Cafe that had people from all over the world coming to catch a bite and drink with friends that were a perfect audience while we sang and played for them.

It can definitely be said that Small things come in Big packages and Dharamshala was once such place!

Looking forward to visit the city once more in my lifetime.

Author: Nascimento

Biased towards feature writing. Lifestyle Journalist. Soccer Fanatic. Food Writer. Amateur travel enthusiast and blogger.

2 thoughts on “Dharamshala- A place hardly known but now fully explored!”

Leave a Reply

